Former Ottawa mayor Jim Durrell among Order of Canada recipients

Former mayor Jim Durrell is one of 91 people receiving the Order of Canada, Governor General David Johnston announced Sunday.

Durrell ran the city from 1985-91 and played an instrumental role in bringing the Senators to town, serving as the team’s first president.

In addition, Durrell, who is being inducted as a member, oversaw construction of the new Convention Centre and the airport expansion.

Former Supreme Court of Canada judge Louise Charron received the Order’s Companion level.

Politicians Sheila Copps and Brian Tobin were named Officers of the Order of Canada, as were former Montreal Canadiens’ goalie Ken Dryden, and Native leader Phil Fontaine.

Other Ottawans honoured include retired Col. John Alan Gardam, global health leader M. G. Venkatesh Mannar, University of Ottawa health sciences professor Rachel Thibeault, and Chelsea-based adventurer, environmentalist and educator Geoffrey D. Green.

Former 1972 Summit Series hero Paul Henderson and politician Howard McCurdy were also named members.

Recipients will accept their insignia at a ceremony to be held at a later date.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s