OC Transpo honours 67 of its safest drivers

Sixty-seven bus drivers with flawless records were recognized during the OC Transpo Safe Driving Awards on Sunday.

The operators have driven collision-free for 20 to 40 years.

“These operators spend thousands of hours navigating our roads and to remain collision-free for such extended periods of time is commendable,” said Mayor Jim Watson in a statement.

“Each time a resident chooses to leave the driving to OC Transpo, they recognize that the transit operators will get them where they need to be, safely and on time.”

In 2011, OC Transpo provided 103.5 million passenger trips “and with every trip comes a range of challenges for our bus operators, including busy rush hours, tough weather conditions and road construction and detours,” said transit commission chairwoman Diane Deans.

Operators must accrue at least 1,000 collision-free hours on the road every year to qualify for the award; a resident would have to drive a minimum of 35,000 kilometres on city streets.

In 2011, one operator reached the milestone of 40 years of collision-free driving, while two operators scored 36 years and 35 years.

An additional 67 operators achieved between 20 to 30 years of safe driving.


Twitter: @ottawasunkroche


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s